de | en

Registration

12-13 November 2020

architecture
in the foyer

The essence

Design That Educates
12 November

Architecture and design projects that use innovative concepts to fulfil a deliberate desire to educate and promote communication between designers, properties and their users – this is the essence of the DtEA – Design that Educates Awards.
We will kick off the morning programme by inviting the 2019 prize-winners to the stage to talk about their projects, which involved alternative urban planning strategies and the activation of traditional materials in order to identify untapped potential for sustainable architecture.
The highlight of the day is the DtEA – Design that Educates Awards 2020 presentation ceremony, which will feature short presentations from this year’s prize-winners, and the opening of the exhibition on all the award-winning entries.
The get-together that follows will give guests the chance to network and speak to people from other disciplines, including architects, speakers, members of the jury and participants in the DtEA.

inSights
13 November

International architects, designers and artists will provide us with insights into the personal design principles and individual methods used in their work – be it practical, educational or research-based. They will demonstrate how an aesthetic design is always caught between contrasting priorities of culture, society and interaction. Alongside their courage to experiment, their work is also defined by an insatiable curiosity, investigative research, engineering and building culture – not to mention the over-arching human relationships and the different ways in which they are perceived.

Dutch artist Theo Jansen will appeal to our more emotional, artistic sides with his tales of the life-forms he has created himself: The large kinetic objects he sculpts – which he calls his “beach beasts” – are set into motion by wind energy alone and evoke an immediate emotional response in the observer.

Speakers

Laden...

Speakers

12 November

Speakers

13 November

Vinu Daniel wallmakers.org/about Vinu Daniel’s architectural work represents a return to natural materials, in which he expands his utilitarian concept of materials to include the “results” of industrial construction – the inescapable waste it produces. “While working on and constructing a building leads to the production of a lot of waste, we believe that we should not allow this demon to scare us off. Instead, we have learned to build with it.”

Kilian Kada

© Andreas Horsky

Kilian Kada kadawittfeldarchitektur.de The kadawittfeldarchitektur approach is based on the conviction that architecture has an ability and a duty to create additional value that goes beyond its appointed function, and that this value lends both the building and its surroundings permanent, overriding qualities. As Kilian Kada says, “Architecture means communication. Building culture is a culture of talking. If we acknowledge this, we can create buildings whose qualities far exceed conventional engineering achievements.”

© Adriana Bertossa

Davide Macullo macullo.com Davide Macullo calls it “research into the synthesis between individual expectations and those of the collective. This is what “filters” his approach to architecture: the belief that architecture and design should have a positive impact on human life. These are the disciplines that connect people to cultural and social life, both psychologically and emotionally. As such, they affect all people, not matter how much individual influence they wield over these “cultural landscapes”.

© Klemens Renner

Richter Musikowski richtermusikowski.com Richter Musikowski is an up-and-coming architects’ bureau founded by Christoph Richter and Jan Musikowski in 2012. Last year, the pair’s “Futurium Berlin” entry won them the Design that Educates Award in the “Architectural Design” category. They describe their partnership as the result of discovering their shared talent for solving complex challenges. This led indirectly to an “exciting architectural story” – a succinct way of describing how they work.

Anastasia Elrouss anastasiaelrouss.com Anastasia Elrouss’ architectural work focuses on the specific relationship between real construction and undeveloped or largely natural environments. Based on evolutionary premises, the building has both human needs and the natural necessity to reflect its environment. The human relationships with their individual characteristics that are influenced by this process – relationships she sees as fleeting – provide a platform for continual re-interpretation.

© Loek van der Klis

Theo Jansen Theo Jansen After many years as a student of physics, Theo Jansen eventually set aside science in favour of art. He started embracing his creative side in 1990 by combining technology with art: his “beach beasts”, the seventh generation of which now stalk the beaches of the Baltic Sea, are large kinetic objects that can move freely. Where the first generation still needed to be pulled or pushed, later evolutions of the creatures have drawn on wind power and energy storage in PET bottles to drive them forward.

Speakers

12 November

Vinu Daniel wallmakers.org/about Vinu Daniel’s architectural work represents a return to natural materials, in which he expands his utilitarian concept of materials to include the “results” of industrial construction – the inescapable waste it produces. “While working on and constructing a building leads to the production of a lot of waste, we believe that we should not allow this demon to scare us off. Instead, we have learned to build with it.”

© Adriana Bertossa

Davide Macullo macullo.com Davide Macullo calls it “research into the synthesis between individual expectations and those of the collective. This is what “filters” his approach to architecture: the belief that architecture and design should have a positive impact on human life. These are the disciplines that connect people to cultural and social life, both psychologically and emotionally. As such, they affect all people, not matter how much individual influence they wield over these “cultural landscapes”.

Anastasia Elrouss anastasiaelrouss.com Anastasia Elrouss’ architectural work focuses on the specific relationship between real construction and undeveloped or largely natural environments. Based on evolutionary premises, the building has both human needs and the natural necessity to reflect its environment. The human relationships with their individual characteristics that are influenced by this process – relationships she sees as fleeting – provide a platform for continual re-interpretation.

Speakers

13 November

Kilian Kada

© Andreas Horsky

Kilian Kada kadawittfeldarchitektur.de The kadawittfeldarchitektur approach is based on the conviction that architecture has an ability and a duty to create additional value that goes beyond its appointed function, and that this value lends both the building and its surroundings permanent, overriding qualities. As Kilian Kada says, “Architecture means communication. Building culture is a culture of talking. If we acknowledge this, we can create buildings whose qualities far exceed conventional engineering achievements.”

© Klemens Renner

Richter Musikowski richtermusikowski.com Richter Musikowski is an up-and-coming architects’ bureau founded by Christoph Richter and Jan Musikowski in 2012. Last year, the pair’s “Futurium Berlin” entry won them the Design that Educates Award in the “Architectural Design” category. They describe their partnership as the result of discovering their shared talent for solving complex challenges. This led indirectly to an “exciting architectural story” – a succinct way of describing how they work.

© Loek van der Klis

Theo Jansen Theo Jansen After many years as a student of physics, Theo Jansen eventually set aside science in favour of art. He started embracing his creative side in 1990 by combining technology with art: his “beach beasts”, the seventh generation of which now stalk the beaches of the Baltic Sea, are large kinetic objects that can move freely. Where the first generation still needed to be pulled or pushed, later evolutions of the creatures have drawn on wind power and energy storage in PET bottles to drive them forward.

Programme

Highlights

12 November

From 16:00 Brief presentations from selected DtEA 2019 prize-winners
Vinu Daniel Wallmakers | India

Davide Macullo Davide Macullo Architects | Switzerland
Anastasia Elrouss Anastasia Elrouss Architects | Lebanon
From 18:00 DtEA – Design that Educates Awards 2020 awards ceremony and exhibition opening
From 20:00 Get-together with live music

13 November

From 12:00 Keynote speeches
Kilian Kada kadawittfeldarchitektur | Berlin, Aachen
From 14:00 Christoph Richter + Jan Musikowski Richter Musikowski | Berlin        
From 15:45 Theo Jansen artist| The Hague, Netherlands
From 16:30 Round-up + discussion | Chaired by Prof. Jan Krause
From 17:00 Get-together | Guided tour of exhibition + Solarlux Campus

Awards ceremony

DtEA – Design that Educates Awards

Solarlux is more than a little proud to be collaborating with the Laka Foundation to provide the prizes for the DtEA – Design that Educates Awards for the second time. The prizes will be awarded to architecture and design projects that use innovative concepts to fulfil a deliberate desire to educate and promote communication between designers, properties and their users.
The official DtEA 2020 awards ceremony will be held during the “architecture in the foyer” event. This year, prizes will be awarded in four categories: Architectural Design, Product Design, Universal Design and Responsive Design. There will also be special “Solarlux Choice” and “Emerging Designer” awards for student projects.

The ceremonial proceedings will be topped off by laudatory speeches from the jury, brief presentations from selected prize-winners, and an exhibition of all the award-winning projects.

Exhibition

Ausstellung 1

2020 prize-winners

Solarlux has set up a special exhibition to honour the prize-winners of the Design that Educates Awards 2020 – who will probably number more than 30 in total. Displays with diagrams, drawings and explanatory text will provide information on the significance of the projects that win the Architectural Design, Product Design, Universal Design, Responsive Design and Emerging Design categories.

The results of the jury’s will be available to view at https://designeducates.com/ from mid-March. A publication on the prize-winners’ individual entries will also be provided free of charge at the exhibition opening ceremony.

Programme transparency

Laden...

Our campus is an embodiment of how consistently transparent architecture works. The whole building is flooded with light and air, from the offices to the production halls. All the workstations benefit from daylight and natural ventilation. This ensures a good work climate and generally improves the quality of the time spent here – not to mention opportunities for discussion.

Solarlux

Ever since it was founded almost 40 years ago, Solarlux has devoted itself to the design and functional interpretation of the area that serves as a transition between the inside of a building and the great outdoors. From an architectural perspective, this passion has taken the form of cultivating how we work with natural light, or transparency, as a design element in our architecture. And when it comes to solutions, we also focus on the functional development of a building using “building components” and a meticulous attention to detail when designing our products.

Solarlux’s product portfolio for applications in property and high-end flat construction ranges from bi-folding door and horizontal sliding door systems to glass canopies, wintergardens, balcony glazing, and even large-format “cero” sliding elements with panel sizes of up to 15 m². During the planning process and implementation, Solarlux’s various in-house Service departments and installation teams are on-hand to assist our partners, builder-owners, investors and architects. Solarlux systems can be found in sophisticated architecture the world over.

Registration

Contact details

Participation

Additional participants

Contact & directions

Solarlux Campus
Industriepark 1, 49324 Melle, Germany

For your sat-nav/GPS::
Allendorfer Straße 16, 49324 Melle, Germany

T +49 5422 9271-0
Email info@architektur-im-foyer.com

A good night’s sleep

Solarlux and Melle are famously great places to visit. There’s tons to see – and not all of it architectural! So why not stay a few days longer? To make it easier for you, we’ve put together some useful information for your trip – though there’s plenty more to see and experience during your stay, of course! Let’s start with our recommendations for places to stay in the area:

Alte Apotheke Hotel & Café
Nikolaistraße 28
49152 Bad Essen

Van der Valk Hotel
Wellingholzhausener Str. 7
49324 Melle

» Find out more



Höger’s Hotel Restaurant + Café
Kirchplatz 25
49152 Bad Essen

Romantikhotel Walhalla
Bierstraße 25
49074 Osnabrück

Holiday Inn
Niedersachsenstraße 5
49074 Osnabrück


Worth a visit

© Thomas M. Weber

Of course, you’re probably already familiar with one or two places on our list. But don’t let that stop you taking a closer look – you might be surprised by what your colleagues in Southern Lower Saxony and East Westphalia have built over the past few years! These are some of our favourite places to visit in the area:

Museum + Park Kalkriese
49565 Bramsche
Architektur: Gigon + Guyer

Felix-Nussbaum-Museum
49078 Osnabrück
Architektur: Daniel Libeskind

» Find out more



Rathaus Bissendorf
49143 Bissendorf
Architektur: blocher partners

Besucherzentrum Sparrenburg
33602 Bielefeld
Architektur: Max Dudler

Kunsthalle Bielefeld
33602 Bielefeld
Architektur: Philip Johnson

Museum Peter August Böckstiegel
33824 Werther
Architektur: H.S.D. Architekten

MARTa Herford
32052 Herford
Architektur: Frank O. Gehry

Fagus Werk UNESCO Welterbe
31061 Alfeld
Architektur: Walter Gropius

LWL Museum für Kunst und Kultur
48143 Münster
Architektur: Volker Staab

RS + Yellow Distribution
48147 Münster
Architektur: BOLLES+WILSON

Also worth a visit

Always entertaining and never a dull place to spend your time:

Pistole Hardcore-Food
Artländer Hofanlage
49635 Badbergen-Grothe

Solearena
LAGA 2010, Gestaltung Lützow 7
49152 Bad Essen

» Find out more



Parkanlage LGS 2018
mit Baumwipfelpfad
49186 Bad Iburg

Otto Modersohn Museum
im historischen Ortskern
49545 Tecklenburg

Draiflessen Collection
Privatmusem Fam. Brenninkmeijer
49497 Mettingen

Kragstuhlmuseum Tecta
Möbelmanufaktur
37697 Lauenförde

Industriemuseum Glashütte Gernheim
Finnisches Glasdesign v. Timo Sarpaneva
32469 Petershagen

Good eating

No list of the culinary highlights in our region would be complete without a mention of “Pickert”. Originally a typical working-class repast, these hearty potato pancakes are now a popular staple in all walks of life. Whether you’ve never tried them before or want to compare the Lower-Saxon Pickert to the East-Westphalian version, it’s never a bad idea to give them a try. We promise you won’t regret it!

Friedrich Restaurant
Lotter Str. 99
49078 Osnabrück

Wilde Triebe
Am Sutthauser Bahnhof 5
49082 Osnabrück

» Find out more



Kesselhaus
Neulandstraße 12
49084 Osnabrück

Rampendahl Hausbrauerei
Hasestraße 35
49074 Osnabrück

Kroneck Salis Café : Salon : Restaurant
Schloßstraße 17
49186 Bad Iburg

Cantaloop Restaurant
Osnabrücker Str. 119
33829 Borgholzhausen

GlückundSeligkeit
Artur-Ladebeck-Straße 57
33617 Bielefeld

2019 review

Laden...

Interdisciplinary
discussion

The kick-off event of the “Architecture in the Foyer” series in March 2019 offered a diverse programme. Architects reported on their design processes, a ceremony was held for the presentation of the Design that Educates Awards, and workshops offered international students the opportunity to practice their parametric designing.

Around 200 guests – including architects and designers from the USA, Lebanon, England, Poland, Hungary, Austria, Switzerland, and many other countries – accepted the invitation to visit Melle, Germany, to take part in the international networking event.

Amandus Samsøe Sattler

Prof. Barbara Holzer

Prof. Tobias Wallisser

We look forward to seeing you!

de | en

Anmeldung

12. bis 13. November 2020

architektur
im foyer

Essenz

Design That Educates
12. November

Architektur- und Designprojekte, die mit innovativen Konzepten einen expliziten Bildungsanspruch abbilden und die Kommunikation zwischen Gestalter, Objekt und ihren Nutzern fördern, sind Gegenstand der DtEA – der Design that Educates Awards.
Am Vormittag stehen zunächst Vorträge der Preisträger aus dem Jahre 2019 auf dem Programm, bei denen es u.a. um alternative Strategien im Städtebau oder auch die Aktivierung althergebrachter Materialien zur Identifikation ungenutzter Potentiale für nachhaltige Architektur gehen wird.
Die Preisverleihung der DtEA – Design that Educates Awards 2020 mit Kurzvorträgen der diesjährigen Preisträger und die Ausstellungseröffnung aller prämierten Beiträge bilden den Höhepunkt des Tages.
Das anschließende Get-together bietet Gelegenheit zu Networking und interdisziplinärem Austausch mit Architekt*innen, Referent*innen, Jurymitgliedern und Teilnehmer*innen des DtEA.

einBlicke
13. November

International tätige Architekten, Designer und Künstler vermitteln uns Einblicke in ihre persönliche Gestaltungsauffassung und individuelle Arbeitsweise: aus der Praxis, für die Lehre und in der Forschung. Sie zeigen auf, dass eine ästhetische Gestaltung immer auch in einem großen Spannungsfeld steht: kulturell, gesellschaftlich, partizipativ. Neben dem Mut zum Experimentieren geht es um immerwährende Neugier, investigative Forschung, um Engineering und Baukultur – oder auch um die über allem schwebende Mensch-Beziehung und wie unterschiedlich sie verstanden wird.

Der niederländische Künstler Theo Jansen wiederum setzt künstlerisch-emotionale Akzente mit Erzählungen über seine selbst geschaffenen Lebensformen: Die von ihm als „Strandbiester“ bezeichneten kinetischen Großobjekte werden allein durch Windenergie in Bewegung gesetzt und lösen im Betrachter eine unmittelbare Berührtheit aus.

Referenten

Laden...

Referenten

12. November

Referenten

13. November

Vinu Daniel wallmakers.org/about Vinu Daniel praktiziert in seiner architektonischen Arbeit eine Rückbesinnung auf natürliche Materialien und erweiterte seinen utilitaristischen Materialbegriff um das „Ergebnis“ des industrialisierten Bauens – den zwangsläufig entstehenden Abfall: „Während die Arbeit und der Bau eines Gebäudes zur Produktion von viel Schrott führen, glauben wir, dass wir uns nicht von diesem Dämon abschrecken lassen, sondern stattdessen gelernt haben, damit zu bauen.“

Kilian Kada

© Andreas Horsky

Kilian Kada kadawittfeldarchitektur.de Die Entwurfshaltung von kadawittfeldarchitektur gründet auf der Überzeugung, dass Architektur die Fähigkeit und die Aufgabe hat, über ihre funktionale Bestimmung hinaus Mehrwerte zu schaffen, die einem Gebäude und seinem Umfeld dauerhafte und übergeordnete Qualitäten verleihen. Kilian Kada: „Architektur bedeutet Kommunikation. Baukultur ist Gesprächskultur. In diesem Bewusstsein entstehen Gebäude, deren Qualitäten die übliche Ingenieursleistung bei Weitem übertreffen.“

© Adriana Bertossa

Davide Macullo macullo.com Davide Macullo nennt es die „Forschung zur Synthese zwischen den individuellen und den kollektiven Erwartungen“, die seinen Ansatz zur Architektur „filtert“: Architektur und Design sollten menschliches Leben positiv beeinflussen. Sie sind die Disziplinen, die Menschen sowohl physisch als auch emotional mit dem kulturellen und sozialen Leben in Verbindung bringen und betreffen insofern alle Menschen, unabhängig vom Maß ihrer individuellen Einflussnahme auf diese „künstlichen Landschaften“.

© Klemens Renner

Richter Musikowski richtermusikowski.com Richter Musikowski ist ein junges Architekturbüro, das 2012 von Christoph Richter und Jan Musikowski gegründet wurde. Sie waren im vergangenen Jahr mit ihrer Einreichung zu ihrem Entwurf „Futurium Berlin“ die Preisträger des Design that Educates Award in der Kategorie „Architectural Design“. Ihre Zusammenarbeit bewerten die beiden als Ergebnis der Entdeckung gemeinsamer Talente bei der Lösung komplexer Aufgaben, die mittelbar eine „spannende architektonische Erzählung“ generieren – wie sie geradezu lapidar ihr eigenes Wirken kommentieren.

Anastasia Elrouss anastasiaelrouss.com Fokus ihrer architektonischen Auseinandersetzung ist die spezifische Beziehung des realen Baus in einer unbebauten, d.h. weitestgehend natürlichen Umgebung. Nach evolutionären Prämissen hat das Gebäude gleichermaßen menschliche Bedürfnisse wie auch die natürlichen Notwendigkeiten der Umgebung zu reflektieren. Die hiervon beeinflussten – nach ihrer Einschätzung flüchtigen menschlichen Beziehungen mit ihren individuellen Ausprägungen – bieten dabei die Basis für kontinuierliche Neuinterpretationen.

© Loek van der Klis

Theo Jansen Theo Jansen verlegte sich nach vielen Jahren des Physik-Studiums auf die Kunst. Ab 1990 wurde er schöpferisch tätig und vereinte Technik und Kunst: Seine „Strandbeesten“, die in der mittlerweile 7. Generation die Strände der Nordsee bevölkern, sind kinetische Großobjekte die sich frei bewegen können. Während Strandbiester der ersten Generation noch gezogen oder geschoben werden mussten, bezogen die folgenden Generationen ihre Bewegungsfähigkeit aus Windenergie oder nutzen zur Energiespeicherung PET-Flaschen.

Referenten

12. November

Vinu Daniel wallmakers.org/about Vinu Daniel praktiziert in seiner architektonischen Arbeit eine Rückbesinnung auf natürliche Materialien und erweiterte seinen utilitaristischen Materialbegriff um das „Ergebnis“ des industrialisierten Bauens – den zwangsläufig entstehenden Abfall: „Während die Arbeit und der Bau eines Gebäudes zur Produktion von viel Schrott führen, glauben wir, dass wir uns nicht von diesem Dämon abschrecken lassen, sondern stattdessen gelernt haben, damit zu bauen.“

© Adriana Bertossa

Davide Macullo macullo.com Davide Macullo nennt es die „Forschung zur Synthese zwischen den individuellen und den kollektiven Erwartungen“, die seinen Ansatz zur Architektur „filtert“: Architektur und Design sollten menschliches Leben positiv beeinflussen. Sie sind die Disziplinen, die Menschen sowohl physisch als auch emotional mit dem kulturellen und sozialen Leben in Verbindung bringen und betreffen insofern alle Menschen, unabhängig vom Maß ihrer individuellen Einflussnahme auf diese „künstlichen Landschaften“.

Anastasia Elrouss anastasiaelrouss.com Fokus ihrer architektonischen Auseinandersetzung ist die spezifische Beziehung des realen Baus in einer unbebauten, d.h. weitestgehend natürlichen Umgebung. Nach evolutionären Prämissen hat das Gebäude gleichermaßen menschliche Bedürfnisse wie auch die natürlichen Notwendigkeiten der Umgebung zu reflektieren. Die hiervon beeinflussten – nach ihrer Einschätzung flüchtigen menschlichen Beziehungen mit ihren individuellen Ausprägungen – bieten dabei die Basis für kontinuierliche Neuinterpretationen.

Referenten

13. November

Kilian Kada

© Andreas Horsky

Kilian Kada kadawittfeldarchitektur.de Die Entwurfshaltung von kadawittfeldarchitektur gründet auf der Überzeugung, dass Architektur die Fähigkeit und die Aufgabe hat, über ihre funktionale Bestimmung hinaus Mehrwerte zu schaffen, die einem Gebäude und seinem Umfeld dauerhafte und übergeordnete Qualitäten verleihen. Kilian Kada: „Architektur bedeutet Kommunikation. Baukultur ist Gesprächskultur. In diesem Bewusstsein entstehen Gebäude, deren Qualitäten die übliche Ingenieursleistung bei Weitem übertreffen.“

© Klemens Renner

Richter Musikowski richtermusikowski.com Richter Musikowski ist ein junges Architekturbüro, das 2012 von Christoph Richter und Jan Musikowski gegründet wurde. Sie waren im vergangenen Jahr mit ihrer Einreichung zu ihrem Entwurf „Futurium Berlin“ die Preisträger des Design that Educates Award in der Kategorie „Architectural Design“. Ihre Zusammenarbeit bewerten die beiden als Ergebnis der Entdeckung gemeinsamer Talente bei der Lösung komplexer Aufgaben, die mittelbar eine „spannende architektonische Erzählung“ generieren – wie sie geradezu lapidar ihr eigenes Wirken kommentieren.

© Loek van der Klis

Theo Jansen Theo Jansen verlegte sich nach vielen Jahren des Physik-Studiums auf die Kunst. Ab 1990 wurde er schöpferisch tätig und vereinte Technik und Kunst: Seine „Strandbeesten“, die in der mittlerweile 7. Generation die Strände der Nordsee bevölkern, sind kinetische Großobjekte die sich frei bewegen können. Während Strandbiester der ersten Generation noch gezogen oder geschoben werden mussten, bezogen die folgenden Generationen ihre Bewegungsfähigkeit aus Windenergie oder nutzen zur Energiespeicherung PET-Flaschen.

Programm

Highlights

12. November

Ab 16:00 Uhr Kurzvorträge ausgewählter Preisträger der DtEA 2019
Vinu Daniel Wallmakers | Indien

Davide Macullo Davide Macullo Architects | Schweiz
Anastasia Elrouss Anastasia Elrouss Architects | Libanon
Ab 18:00 Uhr DtEA – Design that Educates Awards 2020 Preisverleihung und Ausstellungseröffnung
Ab 20:00 Uhr Get-together mit Livemusik

13. November

Ab 12:00 Uhr Werkvorträge
Kilian Kada kadawittfeldarchitektur | Berlin, Aachen
Ab 14:00 Uhr Christoph Richter + Jan Musikowski Richter Musikowski | Berlin        
Ab 15:45 Uhr Theo Jansen Künstler | Den Haag, Niederlande
Ab 16:30 Uhr Zusammenfassung + Diskussion | Moderation Prof. Jan Krause
Ab 17:00 Uhr Get-together | Rundgang Ausstellung + Solarlux Campus

„Kammer-Punkte“

Beide Veranstaltungstage sind separat bei den Architektenkammern als Fortbildungsveranstaltung anerkannt.

Informationen dazu erhalten Sie hier!

Preisverleihung

DtEA – Design that Educates Awards

Solarlux ist durchaus ein wenig stolz darauf, gemeinsam mit der Laka Foundation zum zweiten Male die DtEA – die Design that Educates Awards ausloben zu dürfen. Prämiert werden Architektur- und Designprojekte, die mit innovativen Konzepten einen expliziten Bildungsanspruch abbilden und die Kommunikation zwischen Gestalter, Objekt und ihren Nutzern fördern.
Im Rahmen des Events „architektur im foyer“ findet die offizielle Preisverleihung der DtEA 2020 statt. Die Auszeichnung wird in diesem Jahr in vier Kategorien vergeben: Architectural Design, Product Design, Universal Design und Responsive Design. Darüber hinaus werden die „Solarlux Choice“ und der „Emerging Designer“ für studentische Projekte gekürt.

Laudationes der Juroren, Kurzpräsentationen ausgewählter Preisträger und eine Ausstellung aller prämierten Arbeiten ergänzen den feierlichen Rahmen.

Ausstellung

Ausstellung 1

Preisträger 2020

Solarlux würdigt die voraussichtlich mehr als 30 Preisträger der ‚Design that Educates Awards 2020‘ im Rahmen der Veranstaltung mit einer eigenen Ausstellung. Schautafeln mit Visualisierungen, Skizzen und Erläuterungen in Textform vermitteln die besondere Relevanz der ausgezeichneten Projekte in den Kategorien Architectural Design, Product Design, Universal Design, Responsive Design und Emerging Design.

Das Ergebnis der Jurysitzung ist bereits ab Mitte März auf https://designeducates.com/ abrufbar. Zur Ausstellungseröffnung ist darüber hinaus eine Publikation mit den einzelnen Beiträgen der Preisträger kostenfrei erhältlich.

Programmatische Transparenz

Laden...

Unser Campus zeigt, wie eine konsequent transparente Architektur funktioniert. Das gesamte Gebäude ist durchflutet mit Licht und Luft – in den Büros wie auch der Produktion. Alle Arbeitsplätze verfügen über Tageslicht und natürliche Belüftung. Das sorgt für ein angenehmes Arbeitsklima, erhöht generell die Aufenthaltsqualität – und nicht zu vergessen: den Austausch untereinander.

Solarlux

Solarlux beschäftigt sich seit seiner Gründung vor fast 40 Jahren intensiv mit der Gestaltung und der funktionalen Interpretation des Gebäude-Übergangsbereichs zwischen Innen und Außen. Hierbei steht im architektonischen Sinne die Kultivierung des Umgangs mit natürlichem Licht bzw. Transparenz als gestaltbestimmendem Element von Architektur im Fokus.  Rein lösungsorientiert geht es darüber hinaus um die  funktionale Gebäudeerschließung über sogenannte „Bauelemente“ wie auch  die funktional getriebene akribische Gestaltungsarbeit en détail am Produkt.

Das Solarlux Produktportfolio erstreckt sich für Anwendungen im Objekt- wie auch dem gehobenen Wohnungsbau von Glas-Faltwand- bzw. Horizontal-Schiebe-Systemen über Terrassendächer und Wintergärten bis hin zu Balkonverglasungen oder auch großformatigen „cero“-Schiebelementen mit Flügelgrößen von bis zu 15 m². Während des Planungsprozesses und bei der Realisierung unterstützt Solarlux Partner, Bauherren, Investoren und Architekten mit verschiedenen eigenen Serviceabteilungen sowie eigenen Montageteams. Solarlux Systeme finden sich in anspruchsvoller Architektur weltweit.

Kontakt und Anreise

Solarlux Campus
Industriepark 1, 49324 Melle

Für Ihr Navigationsgerät:
Allendorfer Straße 16, 49324 Melle

T +49 5422 9271-0
Mail info@architektur-im-foyer.com

Gut schlafen

Da Solarlux bzw. Melle bekanntermaßen immer eine Reise wert sind und Sie insofern planen sollten, einige Tage länger zu verweilen, weil es hier – tatsächlich! – und zu Hauf (nicht nur architektonisch) Sehenswürdiges gibt, haben wir hier einige Informationen für Sie zusammengestellt, die naturgemäß keinen Anspruch auf Vollständigkeit erheben. Wir fangen mit den Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten an, die wir guten Gewissens empfehlen können:

Alte Apotheke Hotel & Café
Nikolaistraße 28
49152 Bad Essen

Van der Valk Hotel
Wellingholzhausener Str. 7
49324 Melle

» Mehr anzeigen



Höger’s Hotel Restaurant + Café
Kirchplatz 25
49152 Bad Essen

Romantikhotel Walhalla
Bierstraße 25
49074 Osnabrück

Holiday Inn
Niedersachsenstraße 5
49074 Osnabrück


Einen Besuch wert

© Thomas M. Weber

Gewiss, das eine oder andere Gebäude auf unserer Liste kennen Sie – aber schauen Sie vielleicht doch noch einmal genauer hin, was Ihre Kolleginnen und Kollegen im Laufe der Jahre so alles in der südniedersächsischen und ostwestfälischen Provinz gebaut haben. Diese Orte meinen wir, können wir Ihnen insbesondere ans Herz legen:

Museum + Park Kalkriese
49565 Bramsche
Architektur: Gigon + Guyer

Felix-Nussbaum-Museum
49078 Osnabrück
Architektur: Daniel Libeskind

» Mehr anzeigen



Rathaus Bissendorf
49143 Bissendorf
Architektur: blocher partners

Besucherzentrum Sparrenburg
33602 Bielefeld
Architektur: Max Dudler

Kunsthalle Bielefeld
33602 Bielefeld
Architektur: Philip Johnson

Museum Peter August Böckstiegel
33824 Werther
Architektur: H.S.D. Architekten

MARTa Herford
32052 Herford
Architektur: Frank O. Gehry

Fagus Werk UNESCO Welterbe
31061 Alfeld
Architektur: Walter Gropius

LWL Museum für Kunst und Kultur
48143 Münster
Architektur: Volker Staab

RS + Yellow Distribution
48147 Münster
Architektur: BOLLES+WILSON

Auch einen Besuch wert

Kurzweilig und nicht minder interessant lässt sich Zeit hier verbringen:

Pistole Hardcore-Food
Artländer Hofanlage
49635 Badbergen-Grothe

Solearena
LAGA 2010, Gestaltung Lützow 7
49152 Bad Essen

» Mehr anzeigen



Parkanlage LGS 2018
mit Baumwipfelpfad
49186 Bad Iburg

Otto Modersohn Museum
im historischen Ortskern
49545 Tecklenburg

Draiflessen Collection
Privatmusem Fam. Brenninkmeijer
49497 Mettingen

Kragstuhlmuseum Tecta
Möbelmanufaktur
37697 Lauenförde

Industriemuseum Glashütte Gernheim
Finnisches Glasdesign v. Timo Sarpaneva
32469 Petershagen

Gut essen

Kulinarisch wäre in der Region u.a. der „Pickert“ zu nennen – früher ein ganz typisches Arme-Leute-Essen. Aber nutzen Sie doch gleich die Gelegenheit herauszufinden, ob es einen Unterschied zwischen dem niedersächsischen und dem westfälischen Pickert gibt – oder auch, was es mit „Pickert“ überhaupt auf sich hat. Begeistert werden Sie vermutlich so oder so sein:

Friedrich Restaurant
Lotter Str. 99
49078 Osnabrück

Wilde Triebe
Am Sutthauser Bahnhof 5
49082 Osnabrück

» Mehr anzeigen



Kesselhaus
Neulandstraße 12
49084 Osnabrück

Rampendahl Hausbrauerei
Hasestraße 35
49074 Osnabrück

Kroneck Salis Café : Salon : Restaurant
Schloßstraße 17
49186 Bad Iburg

Cantaloop Restaurant
Osnabrücker Str. 119
33829 Borgholzhausen

GlückundSeligkeit
Artur-Ladebeck-Straße 57
33617 Bielefeld

Rückblick 2019

Laden...

Interdisziplinärer
Austausch

Die Auftaktveranstaltung der Event-Reihe Architektur  im Foyer im März 2019 bot ein facettenreiches Programm: Architekten berichteten über ihre Entwurfsprozesse, die Design that Educates Awards wurden in einem feierlichen Rahmen übergeben und internationale Studenten übten sich in Workshops im parametrischen Entwerfen.

Rund 200 Gäste, darunter Architekten und Designer u.a. aus den USA, dem Libanon, England, Polen, Ungarn, Österreich und der Schweiz folgten der Einladung nach Melle und nahmen am internationalen Networking teil.

Amandus Samsøe Sattler

Prof. Barbara Holzer

Prof. Tobias Wallisser

Wir freuen uns auf Sie!